• Tricia Babischkin

Board Packet Review: November 10, 2020

Again we have a board meeting that will be entirely zoom. It appears that a select group of Village Officials are at Village Hall during the meeting; but most of the board has been on Zoom in the last few meetings. This fully remote format is an improvement over the months where the board met at RedTail and the public was kept out resulting in meeting after meeting where the public could hear nothing except the person closest to CAO Smith's laptop.


The board packet appears to be straight forward.


Consent Agenda:

1. Request Approval of Minutes: a. June 9, 2020 Regular Village Board Meeting b. October 27, 2020 Regular Village Board Meeting 2. Request Approval of Bill Lists: a. Accounts Payable Invoices Dated November 11, 2020 in the Amount of $113,918.03

b. Accounts Payable PrePaid Invoices Dated September, 2020 in the Amount of $28,077.75

c. Debit Card Activity for July, 2020 in the Amount of $2,484.61

d. RedTail Golf Club Debit Activity for July, 2020 in the Amount of $3,768.76

e. RedTail Golf Club Manual Checking Account Activity for July, 2020 in the Amount of $9,140.08

I would like the board to please explain why we have $2,400 in LATE fees from PNC that are being paid here?? It seems like we should make sure that we are avoiding late fees at all costs, right?



3. Request Approval of Financial Statements: a. Village Financial Statements for the Periods May 1, 2020 through July 31, 2020 b. RedTail Golf Club Financial Statements for the Periods May 1, 2020 through July 31, 2020

c. Lake Patrol Financial Statements for the Periods May 1, 2020 through July 31, 2020

4. Request Approval of 2021 Village Board Meeting Calendar 5. Request Approval of 2021 Planning and Zoning Meeting Calendar

6. Request Approval of 2020 Lake Activity Report 7. Items Removed from Consent Agenda-If Any

AGENDA ITEMS FOR DISCUSSION

8. Motion Authorizing the Chief Administrative Officer to Execute a Letter Agreement with Icon Development Group LLC to Waive Impact Fees Associated with Brighton Oaks Unit 5 Vacant Lots for a Period of 3 Years

Can the board explain why last year we waived the impact fees, we waived them for the whole village. Why are we now only doing this for one builder? Doesn't this show preferential treatment? Wouldn't we want to encourage building throughout the village?

9. Motion to Approve Ordinance No.2020–(24)– An Ordinance Adopting by Reference of the McHenry County Stormwater Management Ordinance

10. Motion Authorizing the Chief Administrative Officer to Execute a Contract with Leading IT Technology as Presented

First, has this contract been bid out within the last 9 years? It would seem that we should be reviewing costs of contracts periodically -- not just when we first hire them.

Next, it appears that this contract reads like it is month to month, which is rarely the least expensive option. Can this be explained -- again, what negotiation was done to ensure that the resources of the Village are being properly managed?

Finally, in the letter from CAO Smith, she mentions that this contract covers:

But yet, in the terms of service specifically called out is:

Can CAO Smith explain how this "Workplace SECURE Enhanced Security and Prevention" addresses cybersecurity issues when they say that "cybersecurity issues are NOT included"?

Also, Can CAO Smith explain the need for the "BackUPOverDrive Business Continuity & Disaster Recover" services? Was this added to address the PAC complaints around failure to produce documentation that was 'lost' before it should have been destroyed because of not properly maintaining back-ups?

11. Motion to Authorize the Chief Administrative Officer to Execute a Contract with Humana to continue as the Dental carrier for the October 1, 2020 and September 30, 2021 Plan Year 12. Motion to Authorize the Chief Administrative Officer to Renew Employee Aetna Health Insurance Plan for Calendar Year 2021

Notably absent from the Agenda:

RFP Update:

No, update on the RFP for Marketing Services. I'm sure the community is waiting to hear the outcome of the proposals for this work for the village. I realize that the CAO pushed back the date from it's original 10/27/2020:


But since about the 28th of October, this is what the homepage of our website has said:


Maybe it will be part of CAO Smith's Reports and Comments?


Audit Details:

By IL code, it is required to file the audit 6 months after closing the books on a fiscal year. That date would have been 10/30/2020. Traditionally, the audit would be included in the last meeting of October's board packet.

Turnberry Driving Range Lights:

At the last meeting, there were questions about the lights and supposedly a Cease & Desist was issued along with a citation. The packet offered the following day showed the C&D but no record of a citation. However, over the weekend, many residents have reported that the lights were on. There’s a $500/day fine cited in the C&D, anyone able to confirm the status of the permit with HR Green and if fines have been issued?



83 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All